Planning & Zoning Commission

Purpose


The Planning and Zoning Commission hears and recommends matters relating to zoning, planning, and land development as specified or required under the city's development ordinance.

Meetings

 
Meetings are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in Council Chambers, located on the third floor of the Municipal Building at 211 S. Hamilton St., High Point, NC 27260. View the 2016 Regular Meeting Schedule (PDF).

 Agendas
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
View Most Recent Agendas

Members, 2016-17

NAME CONTACT INFORMATION TERM EXPIRATION DATE
James Armstrong jim.armstrong@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2018
Ozzie Hough ozzie.hough@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2019
Tom Kirkman tom.kirkman@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2018
Keith McInnis keith.mcinnis@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2018
John McKenzie (ETJ) john.mckenzie@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2018
Andrew Putnam andrew.putnam@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2016
Marie Stone marie.stone@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2017
Mark Walsh mark.walsh@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2019
Ray Wheatley ray.wheatley@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2019
For more information on members, view our Planning and Zoning Commission Membership (PDF) document.

Overview
High Point's Planning and Zoning Commission is an advisory body made up of 9 members appointed by the City Council. It is the general intent of Council to appoint one member from each of the 6 City Council wards. Two of the remaining 3 members are appointed from the City at large, and 1 member is appointed from the City's extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) by the Guilford County Board of Commissioners upon recommendation by the City Council. 

Terms


A full term appointment is three years in length. A member is limited to serving 2 consecutive full terms, not counting any time served filling the unexpired term of a previous member.

Get Involved
Are you interested in becoming involved in what goes on in High Point? Consider becoming a member of one of the Boards, Commissions and/or Committees. Complete an application to place your name on our list for consideration for when a vacancy occurs.