Planning & Zoning Commission


The Planning and Zoning Commission hears and recommends matters relating to zoning, planning, and land development as specified or required under the city's development ordinance.


Meetings are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in Council Chambers, located on the third floor of the Municipal Building at 211 S. Hamilton St., High Point, NC 27260. View the 2020 Regular Meeting Schedule (PDF).


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
View Most Recent Agendas

Members, 2019-20

James Armstrong July 1, 2021
Thad Juszczak July 1, 2022
Tom Kirkman July 1, 2021
Angela McGill July 1, 2021
Marie Stone July 1, 2020
Joan Swift (ETJ) July 1, 2022
Terry Venable July 1, 2020
Mark Walsh July 1, 2020
Ray Wheatley July 1, 2022


High Point's Planning and Zoning Commission is an advisory body made up of 9 members appointed by the City Council. It is the general intent of Council to appoint one member from each of the 6 City Council wards. Two of the remaining 3 members are appointed from the City at large, and 1 member is appointed from the City's extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) by the Guilford County Board of Commissioners upon recommendation by the City Council. 


A full term appointment is three years in length.

Get Involved

Are you interested in becoming involved in what goes on in High Point? Consider becoming a member of one of the Boards, Commissions and/or Committees. Complete an application to place your name on our list for consideration for when a vacancy occurs.